A mix of IndyCar and FIA World Rallycross Championship drivers are set to take part in the RallyX on Ice winter series, including World RX race winners Timmy Hansen, Robin Larsson and Kevin Eriksson.  From the IndyCar field, reigning IndyCar Champion Josef Newgarden and three-time Indianapolis 500 winner Hélio Castroneves top the star-studded entry

Former RallyX on Ice Champion Eriksson, who won the Estering round of World RX in 2016, will return to a Supercar Lites car to fight for his second title, where he will face a range of drivers, including Larsson, brother Oliver Eriksson, RX2 International Series Champion Cyril Raymond and RX2 front-runners Sondre Evjen and Vasiliy Gryazin. “It’s fantastic to be racing in RallyX on Ice as well as being back in Supercar Lites, where I got my breakthrough a couple of years ago. It’s a very competitive series and will be a great start to my year, getting up-to-speed and back into race mode before World RX begins. I’m looking forward to the challenge and hope to make the most of it,” said Eriksson. 2016 FIA European Rallycross Championship for TouringCar Champion, Norway’s Ben-Phillip Gundersen, will also compete. 

RallyX on Ice will take place over four rounds in Sweden and Norway. In the supporting Speedcar Xtreme series for crosskarts buggies, Sweden’s Timmy and Kevin Hansen will drive and will be joined by Finland’s Niclas Gronholm. “I’m really looking forward to racing the Speedcar Xtreme crosskart on ice. It’s an awesome piece of kit and I hope to have a lot of fun in it. There will be plenty of talented young guys out there, so I'm looking forward to the challenge,” said Timmy Hansen.


Share this story on facebook Share this story on Twitter